surf news surf gear

Surf News

Nathan Fletcher wins Moster Tube & Ride of the Year

May 18th, 2012

Nathan Fletcher and Garrett McNamara clean up at the 2012 Billabong XXL Awards

The big names and bigger personalities of big-wave surfing gathered at The Grove of Anaheim for the 2012 Billabong XXL Awards. Nathan Fletcher was the biggest winner of the night, cleaning up the Ride of the Year, Best Tuberide, and Men’s Performance awards for his surfing during the Code Red swell in Tahiti last year. Maya Gabiera took the Girl’s Performance award from a stacked field of female chargers, and Dave Wassel was named the Monster Paddle Champion for his wave at Jaws this winter. Garrett McNamara won two awards as well, the Biggest Wave and Worst Wipeout awards.

Men’s Performance Champion – Nathan Fletcher
Girl’s Performance Champion – Maya Gabeira
Ride of the Year Champion – Nathan Fletcher at Teahupoo, Tahiti
Biggest Wave Champion – Garrett McNamara at Praia do Norte, Portugal
Monster Paddle Champion – Dave Wassel at Jaws, Maui
Monster Tube Champion – Nathan Fletcher at Teahupoo, Tahiti
Wipeout of the Year – Garrett McNamara at North Shore, Oahu

Nathan Fletchers Moster Tube & Ride of the Year

Highlights from the 2012 Billabong XXL Awards

Article tags: ,

Women's Swimwear

Leave a Reply

+ 9 = 11

Wetsuits - Full Suits

Women's Swimwear

Surf Ride - Shop largest selection of surfboards

Recent Surf News

surfrider foundation Surf News 2019 - About Surf News | Advertise | Surf Forecast | Surf Shop